Comber Rotary’s NI Young Musician of the Year 2017 winner announced

Samuel Kane (17) from Portadown College is NI Young Musician of the Year 2017. At the finals of the event in Strathearn School, Belfast on April 1st, his performance of the second movement of the Sibelius violin concerto in D minor wowed the adjudicator Richard Yarr. “I was so impressed by this young man’s composure and engagement with the audience,” said Richard. “Samuel’s interpretation of this demanding piece was secure and controlled.” Asked for his reaction, Samuel commented: “I am stunned! I was not expecting this at all!”

Runner-up was Gary Hunt (17) from Campbell College whose interpretation of Fauré’s Elégie on cello was “beautifully delivered”. Three contrasting pieces on recorder, played “with great agility and poise”, won third prize for Rebecca Doherty (17) from Lumen Christi College in L/Derry.

Winner of the prize for the best under-16 finalist was 12-year-old pianist Christopher McDonald from St Colman’s College in Newry, whose performance of pieces by Beethoven and Chopin “showed a maturity well beyond his years.”

Other finalists receiving certificates were Bethany McClenaghan (17) on violin, Lucia Corrigan (14) on piano, Daniel Sharpe (14) on tenor horn, Erin Whitley (12) on concertina, Megan Barnes (18) on violin, Louise Bell (14) on cornet, Lucian McCauley (18) on flute, Georgia Begley (17) on violin and Conall McHugh (17) on French horn.

The competition, now in its 25th year, was organised by the Rotary Club of Comber and attended by the District Governor of Rotary in Ireland Gerry Kierans and the consuls general of China, the USA and Canada. The BBC’s Noel Thompson was compere.

Story by: DA

Click on any picture for a better view


Supported by: